I’m Young, Fly and Saved!

Last night, I had the opportunity to attend a show featuring Willie Moore Jr. a.k.a. “P-Dub”.  During his performance, he talked about his own journey as an artist. He spoke about his turning point from secular to Christian music. He is now unashamed to be “Young, Fly and Saved”. I really appreciated him sharing his story and would encourage you to download his mixtape! (#7 & #8 are my favs!)

I love a good t-shirt! :-)

So… that leads me into a confession: When I thought about writing this blog post last night, I hesitated. I thought to myself, “Bobbi, are you sure you want to write another [religious] post today? You could turn people off….” Then, after leaving church this afternoon, I was 100% sure that I wanted to get my thoughts out to you. Thank goodness for confirmation!

When I think about working to promote “GOOD music”, my vision is always very clear. I want to help people create music that uplifts others, captures emotions, but above all, shares the true essence of the unique gifts and character of that individual artist. No matter your profession, it’s about knowing who you are and what you want to stand for. I think P-Dub’s testimony is the epitome of that.

When I began to write music, I made a vow to myself that I would never create or perform anything I would ashamed of later or could not sing in front of my grandmother. My goal is to make POSITIVE music. Now, what genre is that? Well… honestly, I’m still trying to figure that one out.  I feel like “genres” are boxes… that may be necessary at times. said it before and I will say it again: 

In closing, I’ll just say that I am truly thankful for the awakening(s) I’ve had this year. While going through my own spiritual process, God has allowed me to SEE MYSELF and make the changes I felt necessary to please Him. He has made a promise to us that He has BIG plans to give us hope and a future (Jeremiah 29:11). I’m not exactly sure how everything will pan out, but in keeping Him first and living life the best I know how, I stay in a constant state of peace, excitement and expectation!

*Thank YOU for reading this unusually long blog post. Lol Peace, Bobbi :-)

Let’s Connect: @BobbiRuffin           I Website I Facebook I Twitter I

